Whose Report Will You Believe?

 

23_bible-sword

Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

Psalm 119:11

(All Scripture references taken from the King James Version)
( Picture taken from http://ubdavid.org/advanced/new-life3/graphics/23_bible-sword.jpg)

Realization

Recently I had a dream. In this dream I had a number of pets including three snakes. Even though I do not like snakes, and acknowledged that in the dream, I did not get rid of them. One in particular was quite bold. Moving freely about the house and chewing on various objects. Even becoming hidden at times.  Needless to say, I woke up unsettled and woke my husband to talk about it.  Was it an insignificant dream or was God trying to tell me something?

We were able to discover after some searching that snakes represent lies from the devil. These lies I was obviously living with; two that were subtle and one that was making itself very much at home. They were in my space and I even counted them as pets!

Thank God for His love and faithfulness. He has given the strategy and thus the victory.

 

Exposure

What were these lies and how long had I lived with them? Were they all subtle at one time, gaining ground only because I was not aware and did not deal with them?

Talking it out helped to reveal them : low self esteem, trust issues, not having what it takes.

Exposure is the first step to dealing with the lies of the enemy. As long as issues remain hidden, they can grow and become part of your space. The words that you think you tell yourself can become a part of what you consider to be truth.

These thoughts of “I can’t”, “I’m not”, “This I not for me” and others, are born from various sources. Maybe harsh words spoken or a past failure, helped to plant the seeds of something that would become larger over time.

 

Destruction

Only by the word of God can the lies of the enemy be destroyed. After Jesus had finished his fast in the desert, the enemy came to sway Him; to tempt Him and only by the word of God was he vanquished.

God’s word says:

Psalm 91:4          He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

Psalm 43:3          O send out thy light and thy truth: let them lead me; let them bring me unto thy holy hill, and to thy tabernacles.

 Without the light that is God’s word we are defenseless and can be lead to a place that is not His will and purpose for our lives. Light destroys darkness. Truth destroys lies.

What does God say about you? What are His promises to you? Does He not speak of you with an unconditional love? Does He not tell you that nothing can separate you from Him? What has God called you to do?

2 Tim 1:9              Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the           world began

Psalm 139:14      I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

Phil 1:6                  Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

Eph 1:4                 just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love,

Know your worth in God’s eyes. Be assured of His plans and vision for you.

That way it is easy to disregard that which is not true. Disbelieving the lies is automatic when the truth of God’s word reside in us.

Are there any lies in your life that you have believed, that need to be exposed? Remember, you may not see them as lies but God knows.

Freedom comes from His truth.

 

Action

Now, write down 3 lies that the enemy has been bugging you with and find the truth in God’s word to counter it . Pray these words over your life and be patient as these words will change your life.

 

Father God, your word is truth. Expose the lies of the enemy that have taken root in my life. Your word is strength, light and peace to me. May it cause that which has sought to pull me down to be defeated, as I stand firm in you. Forgive me for not believing what you say about me. Thank you Lord for your faithfulness. I know that you love me and will not leave or forsake me. I will continue to look to you as the ultimate definition of who I am. For you made me and you know me. Lord, I will rest in you. In the name of Jesus; Amen.

 

By Marisse Cropper

Information about the meanings of dreams – Understanding Dreams and Visions

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

