The Place Where We Abide

large

http://weheartit.com/entry/group/21332340

Hey there everyone. This week’s post was sent by a very good friend, Lorene Goodman. It will be posted over two weeks and I must say that it has encouraged and educated me. Be blessed by these words and her insight.

Love to you all.


 

The Place Where We Abide by Lorene Goodman

Hi sisters. I am presently reading a book on intercessory prayer.

It has captivated me and is revolutionizing my prayer life. One chapter that has me re-reading it, speaks about us abiding in Christ.

John 15:7  If you abide in me and my words abide in you

                    You will ask what you desire and it shall be done for you (NKJV)

Abiding in is the life that prays.

John 15 was given to me when I first arrived in Europe. I spent two weeks in Germany attending a conference and the theme for that conference was, you guessed it, John 15. It made an indelible impact on my life and I hope as you, my sisters, read and meditate on it, that you too will be impacted to serve Him better.

Abiding speaks of such a quality of life lived in a dimension that our will harmonizes with God’s will. Indeed to such an extent that to ask “what you will” is synonymous with asking according to His will.

Verse 5: says “Without me you can do nothing.

In this passage Jesus is comparing himself to a vine and we are the branches. Here in Bosnia almost every house  has a grape vine.  This gave a visual picture in the natural.

vineandbranches

We are to be in Jesus what a branch is to a vine.

Branches abide in the vine.

We are to abide in Jesus.

Abide speaks of union and communion between the vine & branches.

You may ask “What does that mean?”

The branch accepts the vine purpose for its existence.

What is the purpose of the branch?

Verse 16: “You did not choose me, but I choose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the father in  my name He may give you.”

We really need to take note of Jesus’s words. Words like whatever. These words are a treasure trove for us.

The purpose of the branch is to bear (i.e. carry)  fruit. The branch on its own has no value. Without Christ we have no value.

The branch exists to bear fruit. NO FRUIT=NO  VALUE

Non fruit-bearing branches are cut off, heaped together and burnt.

Please note: branches do not produce fruit. That is the work of the vine. The branch’s purpose is to bear fruit.

We must ask ourselves sisters: ” Are we fruit bearing branches?”


This is definitely a point to ponder.

Part two will be posted next week. We look forward to your feedback and comments

 

Leave a Reply

