The Ultimate Love Story

Psalms 136_1

Source: www.pinterest.com

I love romance and love stories. Recently I re-watched ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and was swooning. Yup, I said swooning. There are times when I make room for the mushy. We see the world’s definition of love – the grand gestures, huge weddings and lavish gifts. We also see high divorce rates and failing marriages. People have different ideas of what love should look like and much of that has been shaped by what is disseminated in the media.

I asked God to help me understand His love; to show it to me. You see, my head knows that He loves me but my life and my actions do not always reflect that fact. Walking in the knowledge that the Creator of the Universe has said that nothing can separate us from His love, should make us stand taller and live a more confident life. Trials should not move us because we know that His love for us means that there is a plan even when we cannot see it.

This is what I came to understand:

He knew exactly what He was doing when He created us. Gen 1:27/31 – 27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them….31 Then God saw everything that He had made, and indeed it was very good(that means us)

We are His. Gal 4:6 – And because you are(i.e. we belong to Him) sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out, “Abba, Father!”

His love is totally, without reservation and infinitely, unconditional. Rom 8:35/38/3935Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?… 38For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, 39nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

He listens, He knows and He cares. Psalms 138:8 – The Lord will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever; Do not forsake the works of Your hands. (also Psalms 118:5; 1 Pet 5:7)

As messy as we are, He is faithful. Lam 3:19 -23 – 19Remember my affliction and roaming, The wormwood and the gall. 20My soul still remembers And sinks within me. 21This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope.22Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not.23They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.(also Isa 63: 7- 14)

He wants the best for us. Zephaniah 3:17 – The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.(also Jer 29:11)

We are present in His mind. Psalms 40:5 – Many, O Lord my God, are Your wonderful works which You have done; And Your thoughts toward us cannot be recounted to You in order; If I would declare and speak of them, They are more than can be numbered. (also Psalms 139:17)

1 John 4:10 – In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

Ultimately, that says it all. The love of God should never become passé. The sacrifice made on the cross just another fact of life.

God wants to demonstrate His love. He wants us to trust Him and lean on Him and run to Him and lose ourselves in Him.

Smile, for He takes pleasure in us. (Ps 149:4)

By Marisse Cropper

Leave a Reply

