Talk It Out

Bible_Study_Group_Picture_1-458x292

Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

James 4:7

If we are to believe what we see in cartoons, the devil is portrayed as a red skinned creature with horns on his head, having a long pointed tail and carrying a pitch fork. An image quite easy to recognize and one that would send you running the other way if you ever had a real life encounter.

That, however, is not the case. Often times we unknowingly have an encounter and even listen to his voice. The bible tells us that we have an enemy who will disguise himself to deceive us; appearing even as an angel of light (2 Cor 11:14).

For some time, I had been having these unsettling thoughts. Many times I had thought to talk about it but didn’t. It had gotten to the point where I was sure that the thing I feared would become a reality and still I kept silent. I was convinced that to say it, would make it real.

Then one night, I felt this strong urge to speak to my husband about it. Just tell him and get it over with. The moment I said it, he identified it as an oppressive spirit and not of God. Strange thing is, as we talked I wondered why I could not have seen that for myself as it suddenly became so clear. It is important that we get out of our own heads and confide to someone. All the enemy needs is a small opening and he will  take that opportunity to invade our thoughts.

My husband encouraged me to rise up and pray and he stood in agreement with me. God brought Ps 91:16 to my mind and as I declared the words of that Psalm over my life, something moved. Light and life entered a dark situation. The power of God’s word was evident. That is how we defeat the enemy. He is no match for the word of God.

Rev 12:11 says They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony

What I learned from this situation:

  1. Talk it out. When you are going through something, don’t keep it in. Seek Godly counsel. A different perspective can be just what you need.
  2. Never underestimate the power of God’s word. It can break every stronghold.
  3. The enemy will try to isolate you if given the chance. Don’t let that happen.
  4. I had to identify this spirit, and face it. Only when I had clarity as to what I was dealing with could I accurately battle. It had to be my fight.
  5. Keep the yourself in God’s word. Ps 119:105 – Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.
  6. God wants to help. He wants to get us out of our situations. Start walking to Him.

Father, I thank you that you have given us your word. Let us use it as a two-edged sword in every battle that we may face. Give us the ability to discern the enemy in our lives and stand against him according to your word.

In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Marisse Cropper

Leave a Reply

