Simplify your life and soar!

IMG_1486
Image credit: http://www.prosoaring.com

Luke 10:42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.

I was talking with a friend recently who was telling me that sometimes she feels as if she’s caught up in a whirlwind. With a demanding job, a young family and ministry work all happening at the same time, it wasn’t difficult to understand why she felt that way. Don’t we all feel like that at times? Don’t I know it! I was like..”girl you’re preaching to the choir!”

In my own life, a few years back, the Lord had been speaking to me about simplifying my life..and He still is! I heard His voice and whispered “I don’t know how!”

You see, I love activity! There’s nothing like the feeling a new project brings..the thrill, the excitement of getting something off the ground..birthing something new. The truth is however that it’s the growth process that often sucks the wind out of us..and being one who hates to quit at anything, I would often find myself juggling many different balls..trying to keep them all in the air and make it all work.

So He began to do it for me..a business and other activities, including some ministry ones that had become somewhat difficult to balance..I had to leave them behind. As painful as it was, He kept reassuring me..”For I know the plans that I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, to give you hope and a future.” Jer 29:11. I faced the reality that it wasn’t about all the things that I wanted to be or felt the need to be..but who He wants me to be..this should be my focus.

He wants me to be like CHRIST!
Christ was a man on a mission..He said “My food is to do the will of Him who sent me and to finish it!” That’s the power verse for a lot of us “over-doers” and “over-achievers” along with..”I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” ..and we really do try to do “all things”.

The thing here is that Christ wasn’t on His own mission but on a mission which was the Father’s will, the Father’s mission. What a difference! So many times we are caught up in this whirlwind with everything just swirling around us when God is saying..”peace, be still” not just to the whirlwind..but to us!

Now sometimes God will take us into seasons of busyness but I’ve found His grace to be sufficient and there’s a peace and joy that accompanies His will and His mission. When God isn’t in it however, I’ve found myself stressed, anxious, overwhelmed and distant.

Luke 10:41 And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. 42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” Mary chose to sit at Jesus’ feet and hear His word whereas Martha was distracted with much serving.

I don’t know if this speaks to you today, maybe you are naturally more of a Mary rather than a Martha..I know I am more familiar with Martha, she and I are best friends..if you get my drift! But at different points in our lives, God calls us to take a moment, step back, reset our priorities, listen to His voice and follow.

I have had to be brought to that point where a spiritual as well as practical refocusing was needed. I can tell you that the clarity, peace and joy that follows makes it all worth it. It’s like that hot air balloon..as we throw out the extra sandbags we become lighter, less encumbered and can soar to greater heights!

Prayer: Father open my ears to your still small voice. Give me a heart of obedience to pursue your will only. Lead me to the cross of Christ where I deny myself, pick up His cross..not my own, follow you and soar!

Do you also struggle with this? How has God helped you in your journey to simplify your life? Leave a comment and share with us.

Love and blessings!

By Carol-angel Jackson

One thought on “Simplify your life and soar!

  1. Pingback: Be encouraged: 10 posts to lift you up | Living Life Day by Day ...

Leave a Reply

