Lead me to the Rock

2015/01/img_1271.jpg

Ps 61:2 From the end of the earth will I cry unto Thee when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

This week was tough, in fact it’s been a rough season. Sometimes it seems as if there is no end to bad news and you have to be determined to find the good. Then there are those days where everything collides, the physical, mental and emotional and it almost seems too much to bear.

My heart goes out to all the families and the whole nation of St. Vincent, rocked by the terrible bus tragedy this past week, in which 7 children died. My heart aches for a longtime school friend whose family was also struck by tragedy around the same time in St. Lucia..very few things compare in magnitude to losing loved ones and as a parent of two children who are my heart, I couldn’t imagine what it would feel like to lose both of my boys at the same time..as has happened to parents in both of these situations.

Jesus said in John 16:33 (NKJV) – These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

I love this verse because of the truth it expounds…a truth that sets us free. Having tribulation doesn’t in any way negate the truth that we can have peace and that we can be of good cheer..because Jesus HAS overcome!!! They are all in the same promise. So the same way we can expect that there will be tribulation, we can expect peace and cheerfulness.

These do not come easily. The human nature is prone to worry, despair and our hearts can faint under the weight of tribulation, loss, sad news, dissapointments and world crises. We MUST go to the ROCK that is higher. His perspective is elevated, His ways are higher, He is over this world and has overcome it!!

As Matthew Henry’s Commentary states..”To the rock on the top of which I shall be set further out of the reach of my troubles, and nearer the serene and quiet region, than I can be by any power or wisdom of my own.” God’s power and promise are a rock that is higher than we. This rock is Christ; those are safe that are in him. We cannot get upon this rock unless God by his power lead us. I will put thee in the cleft of the rock, Exod. 33:22. We should therefore by faith and prayer put ourselves under the divine management, that we may be taken under the divine protection.”

When we run to Him and embrace His life, His perspective, His strength and comfort..our hearts are truly lifted.

I pray today for those families, I pray for my own family and I pray for yours that in these difficult times, we will have true peace and joy that comes from knowing Christ and meditating on the truth of His word. As we meditate..may it change our minds, our hearts and our language.

As my good friend said to me today..we must speak life into situations…though they may be bad..it is not the end, it’s NEVER hopeless.

Be encouraged my sisters!!
Listen to “Still” by Hillsong

By Carol-angel Jackson

Leave a Reply

