Perfect Imperfection

worship

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Cor 12:9

One Sunday morning, in the midst of worship, hands and voices were lifted and eyes were closed.  People were lost in the presence of God. I then wondered how would an unsaved person view this scene. Would they be moved by the presence of the Holy Spirit or would look on the worshippers as hypocrites? People whose Monday to Friday lives don’t equate to the Sunday lives.

All have sinned and fallen short of God’s glory….

It then occurred to me, that is why we need God’s grace and is what an unsaved mind cannot understand. That even when we give our lives to God through Jesus Christ, we are still imperfect. That even as we lift our hands In worship, we are also grateful and thanking Him for just loving us as we are.  In that lies the perfection of His plan. The fulfillment of His grace.

We are no longer called to live under the law. He uses us, in spite of our imperfections, to accomplish His will. We have the Holy Spirit to guide us and God’s word to instruct us.

It does not mean that we should continually sin because we will receive grace. It means that our mistakes do not cripple us . It means that we do not live under the weight of condemnation. God meets us time and time again at the point of our weakness.

Look at Peter. He denied Christ three times in spite of having walked with Him. He was racked with guilt but there was restoration. Peter was able to take his position in the early church, as we all know. What would have happened, had he carried around with him, that previous incident? If he had not believed that he was still part of God’s plan?

I am often times my worst critic. The tiniest mole hill can become a mountain by the time I am done with it. There is the assumption that God and other people see those imperfections when they look at me. The thing is,  God does not see  like that. He sees someone covered by blood and redeemed by grace. Why is it so hard to understand that He does not need my perfection?

So each day, there is a new chance. A reboot of sorts. Where my kinks are worked out in Him and His love draws me forward.

Go to Him in your weakness and be amazed at what can be accomplished as we allow Him to take what we have and use it for His glory.

 

by Marisse Cropper

Leave a Reply

