A Father’s Heart

IMG_20130404_223231

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

1 Peter 5:7 (KJV)

I have a mother’s handbag. Let me explain. Searching through all the clutter of my bag to find a document, I encountered a marble, plastic toy (or two), a snack wrapper, a hair scrunchie, an eraser and crayons. All not mine. At some time or other, either I or one of my children put these items in my bag. Maybe they did not want to hold them (happens often), I did not want the item to be lost or (the most frequent one) there was no trash can nearby. It made me smile and shake my head thinking of all the things I- knowingly or unknowingly- carry around for my children.

But I carry around more than the physical things. I also hold on to their hopes, joys, expectations, fears; praying for them, encouraging them even admonishing them. That is mixed in with my desires for them and my thoughts of their futures. That is part of being a parent.

How much more does our heavenly Father carry us and the parts of our lives? He is willing each and every minute of each day to take from us what burdens us and weighs us down. Things that we may find too heavy to hold on to. Dreams that we may have put down that He does not want us to lose. He takes away from us all the garbage that clutters our hearts and minds. He will take away our pain, hurt and confusion and replace them with joy, peace, freedom and confidence in Him. But we first have to ask Him. We have to be the ones to cast our cares.

Take advantage of His heart.

Is God carrying anything for you  or are you trying to hold it up all by yourself?

Surrender does not mean weakness. It just allows Him to do a more complete work on your heart.

Be blessed and have a wonderful weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

