What I Am Still Learning…and learning…and learning

Student in a library surrounded by piles of books

This list is by no means exhaustive. There are items that were omitted because of length limitations that are no less important that the points that are here. I am sure you can add to this list.

1. I need to stay close to Him at all times. When there is a break in reading the word, worship and prayer, it shows in my mood, my thoughts, my attitude.

Isa 26:3 You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You.

Psalm 16:11 You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

2.Worry solves nothing. Sounds pretty simple, but yet it seems to creep in when there is a bump in the road or things are not going as planned. In Matthew chapter 6, Jesus tells us not to worry several times between verses 25 – 34. When will it stick?

Matthew 6:25 Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?

Matthew 6:27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

3.God’s love is unconditional. God is not us. He does not fall out of love with us one day and then back the next. He does not cast me aside if I have made a mistake or a series of them. His ability to forgive and encourage is mind-blowing.

Romans 8:1 There is therefore now no condemnation  to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.

Lamentations 3:22   Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not.

4.What He thinks is more important than what others think and even more important than what I think. I admit; I can spend too much time thinking about me and most times it is not about my brilliance or shining personality. Recently, God had to remind me about how He sees me and He did it through a friend because I was too wrapped up in my own thoughts  for His to get through to me. It blew me away to know what was on His mind towards me and also that He wanted to make sure that I knew.

Psalm 139:17 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them! 

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. (Also Isaiah 55:8 and Psalm 40:5)
 
5.We need each other. The importance of being supported and encouraged by those of like mind is part of who we are. Sometimes when we are have been hurt, there is a tendency to become insular. Keep reaching out. Find the place God has for you. God designed us to give to and receive from each other.

Prov 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.

Ecclesiastes 4:10 For if they fall, one will lift up his companion. But woe to him who is alone when he falls, For he has no  one to help him up.

 

This journey that we are on will be filled with all types of situations and trials. There is never a time when we will be able to say that we know it all and theer is nothing new to learn. I pray for all of us that we will continue to let God mold us, to be open to correction and learning. Even to change things that we were sure we knew already. What is God teaching you?

By Marisse Cropper

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I Am Still Learning…and learning…and learning

  1. Excellent sharing. All of these are things we know as believers but have to be reminded of from time to time. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

