A Life of Sacrifice – Part 2

sunrise

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

Luke 9:23

Continued from last week’s post, A Life of Sacrifice – Part 1

 

Going back to the concept of a life of sacrifice, consider Jesus who after teaching non-stop and who should have been hungry yet took the time to reach out to the lady at the well. His disciples were exhausted and hungry and left to go for food…but not Christ. He continued to work because at that point in time God the father wanted him to speak to that woman. Was it convenient? I doubt it but a life that is sacrificed to God is not always convenient. Consider Abraham who had prayed and waited for a son yet was willing to sacrifice the very life that would have brought his heart great joy. Consider Hannah who asked God to give her a son who later fulfilled her vow to God by letting him go to live and serve in the temple.

As a mother I know that choice could not have been easy. Yet she made it as did Abraham and Christ. That’s exactly my point! Sacrifice is not easy. However, that is where the Lord is calling us to…to a position where our wills, emotions and intellect do not interfere with what he is trying to do in and through our lives. If we truly believe Galatians 2:20 that says, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” we would begin to embrace the position that whatever the Lord wills we would do. Does this sound extreme? I hope not since this is the position our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ took on as he was on the earth. His words should ring true in our hearts, “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.” John 5: 19

So my challenge to you is, look at where your time, energy, money and aspirations are directed to. That would give you a clear indication of your priorities. Have you sacrificed your life to Christ so that if he had to ask you to step away from anything you hold in high esteem you would have no problems doing so? Have you surrendered all your plans to God so that your life is being used for his purpose? Sometimes it’s good to take stock of our lives to make sure that we are living and doing what God expects from us. My hope is that we will give more of ourselves to God so that he can use us to accomplish his kingdom’s purpose on the earth.

By Robertha Reid

One thought on “A Life of Sacrifice – Part 2

  1. Great reading this post. it so lined up with what God is saying to me. and he’s reminded me about the passage from Gal.3.20 and also the story of Hannah 1Sam:1. on two recent occasions one @ a conference 24th-27th April and then @ a retreat 28thApril-2ndMay same topic in a matter of days. Sacrifice and trust. So thanks my sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

