A Life of Sacrifice- Part 1

20140425-111239.jpg

(Photo from hearjesuschrist.blogspot.com)

Recently God has been speaking to me about being open to His rule in my life. I thought that I was doing pretty good in this area but after reading a book called “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan, I began to realise that I give God drops and pieces of my life when it’s convenient to me.

I have a habit of being quick to say no, not because I don’t want to do something but because I am very busy and barely have time for myself. Yet it seems that God has been challenging me to give my all to him; this includes money, gifts and even my time, the very thing I feel that I barely have.

Total surrender is not easy. It requires us accepting that everything we have been given has been given to us for God’s purpose and to expand his Kingdom.

Total surrender also means that we accept the way God allows life to happen to us. When Paul was in prison, I am sure that it was not easy, especially after being beaten, yet Paul was able to sing praises at midnight to God and say things like:

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4: 6-7

and
“I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ[b] who strengthens me.” Philippians 4: 12-13

We don’t always like the way life has happened to us, we may think God is being harsh, insensitive, or indifferent if we keep praying for particular circumstances and not seeing any change but if we have chosen total surrender to God, we must trust that he has total control of our lives and only has our best interest at heart.

The more we get to know God’s character, the more we will trust Him with our lives. So..what does the bible say about God’s character? Psalm 145:8 says “The LORD is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.”

Psalm 18:30 (NKJV)
As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

Hebrews 13:8 (NKJV)
Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

As you go into the weekend, be encouraged and prayerfully ask the Lord to show you how you can take your life, time and resources to the next level in sacrificial giving. Surrender to the Lord and follow His leading knowing that His character and His track record are unmatched.

Next post we will look at some persons in the bible who set the example for us by the sacrificial lives they lived. Have a great weekend.

By Robertha Reid.

Leave a Reply

