It’s a bird, It’s a plane, it’s……supermom.- Prov 31 Study

supermom_wahm

  Prov 31:15 She also rises while it is yet night,

provides food for her household,

And a portion for her maidservants.

As women we are supposed to be able to do everything. Aren’t we?

Our houses are always to be clean and ordered. Our emotions are to be in check and we always know the right things to say.

We always feed our children on time and each meal is nutritionally balanced. Laundry is always done and there are no piles (clean or dirty) anywhere.

We spend the right amount of time with our husbands,  children, parents and friends. We always have boundless energy for every task.

We serve in church and we are at every meeting.

We arrive at work early and stay late if necessary.  Oh, and we never forget anything.

Need I go on?

This was the picture that I had of the woman talked about in Prov 31. This paragon of perfection. Everything always in place and for years I avoided reading about her because I felt that I did not, nor would not, measure up.

Then God lead me to take another look and instead of seeing it as a hard and fast ‘do this or else’,  there were principles to learn and an understanding that things take time. I also saw Prov 31:15 b. There were maid servants! She was not doing it all herself.  In order for her life to be efficient, there were others working alongside her (Ecc4:8-12).  In this way she could focus on the things which needed her attention.  If we try to do it all ourselves, and appear capable, who will know when we need help?

When my husband suggested that we find someone to clean the house, I took that as a blow to my pride. In my mind I heard ” You just are not capable”. In fact what he was saying was ” Our lives are busy and there is a lot  to be done. Let’s get some help in one area”. By the way, that lady is a God send.

How many times have we thought ” I can do this myself” and you do accomplish but other things suffer? Does the phrase ” I wish there were more hours in a day” sound familiar?  Maybe the thought was “If I don’t do all these tasks and do them excellently, then I am not good enough”. Whatever the process, we need to know that there is nothing wrong with delegation (get the kids involved if necessary). Nothing is wrong with asking for help. Sometimes, it is ok to say no. Know what God wants you to focus on for this season. In another season, you may be able to pick back up some of the things you put down.

Hey, we can’t do everything.

multi_tasking_woman

Father, your grace is sufficient in all situations. I pray that I will not let pride cause me to be overwhelmed by the tasks in my life. Show me where I need to ask for help and let me not be afraid to do so.

By Marisse Cropper

One thought on “It’s a bird, It’s a plane, it’s……supermom.- Prov 31 Study

  1. This post is so true! As moms we try to do it all and keep it all together, sometimes at the expense of our health and sanity. Thanks for the reminder that in reality, we do need to have (and accept) help from time to time because we are human (super human – smile – but still human).

    Like

Leave a Reply

