He makes everything beautiful in His time: Personal testimony

My son, Levi, was diagnosed with a right inguinal hernia when he had just turned 2 months old. One morning after giving him a bath he started to scream. When I looked down, I saw that his right scrotum was huge. Terrified, I called my husband and told him we needed to get him to the pediatrician as soon as possible.

After a couple minutes the bulge in his scrotum reduced so I had a bit of time to google possible causes while waiting to go to the doctor. That was when I came across the term inguinal hernias, which are caused by the intestine descending into the scrotum (in the case of a boy). From my quick search I also discovered that surgery was inevitable because if the intestine got stuck, blood supply could be cut off damaging the tissue. Worse yet in extreme cases the baby could die. Of course all kinds of fearful thoughts gripped me at this point.

After I had pretty much made my own diagnosis, we arrived at the pediatrician who confirmed my fears; that it was in fact a hernia and that surgery was the best option. I was really sad and of course scared. I could not fathom the thought of this tiny person undergoing surgery. I was still recovering from my caesarian section and still felt the pain from the cut. The thought of my baby having to endure a painful surgery was way too much to deal with. Not to mention the scar! I looked at his perfect flawless skin and imagined it…no longer perfect. He was only 2 months and I thought it was so unfair that he should have to go through this.

I remember crying and praying through the days after the diagnosis and before the surgery. One day as I was praying God brought a scripture to my mind. It was Ecclesiastes 3:11, “He hath made everything beautiful in his time. KJV It was as if God was saying to me to trust him that this situation was not as ugly and horrible as I thought it was and that he was in fact in control and would cause it to work out beautifully. That verse calmed my heart and gave me composure.

The day of the surgery came and as I handed over my brand new baby to the nurses, I wanted so badly to take his place but I had to trust that God would make this situation beautiful in His own time.

As soon as the surgery was completed and I was reunited with Levi, I held his little hand while he continued sleeping in the recovery room, all the while reminding myself of God’s promise. When he came out of the anesthesia, I was expecting that he would be cranky because of the pain. I expected loads of medication to help him to deal with it. However, with minimum medication (Calpol- what you give babies to cope with pain and fever after they have been immunized), Levi was quite fine. You would never believe that he had had surgery. There was no crying or fussiness so I figured he was not in pain. I am indeed thankful that he didn’t ever have a repeat of the hernia. As for the scar, which is slowly disappearing, each time I see it, I am reminded that God makes all things beautiful in His time.

I am grateful for a God who understands exactly how we are feeling and who speaks to us with the right words to calm our hearts when we are faced with difficult situations. My prayer is that you too will know that God makes all things beautiful (even the ugly and difficult situations) in His time.

By Robertha Reid

One thought on “He makes everything beautiful in His time: Personal testimony

  1. What a beautiful, inspirational testimony! Our God knows exactly what each of us needs in our unique personalities. “Oh for grace to trust Him more”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

