No More Anxiety?

water lilies6  Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication,

with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and

the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

                                                                                                Phil 4: 6-7

God knows all. I just had to say that in case we have any doubts. Not only does He know all, He has a plan for every situation.

Even though they should have been my first, calming thoughts, that truth was far from mind when I got the news that day.  You see, I had not known exactly what to expect when my son did that all important exam but like any parent, I had hoped for the best. So my heart sank when the results were given to me. I was not thrilled with how he had done but I was even less thrilled with what would happen next.

The exam determined the school in which he would be placed, and in this case, because his grades were not the best, the school was also not the best. It was known for a rougher crowd and that was not the environment that I wanted for my son. If only we had not moved recently, I thought, the outcome would have been different. While that was not true -God had moved us -I wanted to vent. Was there another choice?

Through my tears, I heard the Spirit say ” But what if I want him at that school? What if he is to make a difference there?” While that sounded great, the peace still would not come. All I could think about were the negative influences that would be in that environment and how they would affect my still impressionable 11 year old.

It was in the midst of all these swirling thoughts that Phil 4:6-7 found me.  Reading someone else’s thoughts, those words caused me to smile. It made me realise what was going on. Yes, as parents we want the best for our children and we have to make wise choices for them but God has the last say.

So while the option of me going with him every day is not possible, if he is released into that environment, I have to trust God’s plan for him and what God has deposited into him. I also had to stop making this about me and my emotions. God is in control. Not me.

We are still praying about this and seeking God for His direction and will go with whatever He decides but the anxiety won’t be there. Just a heart to make the best choice in this situation.

Is there something that you are anxious about? Something worrying you? Whatever the situation, give it to God. He is able to take care of our smallest needs and our biggest.  We are to be anxious for NOTHING. Not one thing. From how we will pay our bills to needing a new light-bulb. Nothing. He has told us that He takes care of the sparrows and the flowers and He will do much more for us.

God knows the way when we can’t see or if we feel trapped. Let us let go of the things that we are holding so tightly and allow the peace of God to surround us.

By Marisse Cropper

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “No More Anxiety?

  1. Risse you have my love and prayers I understand. I will be going through this iiiii8i you and praying for his safety and progress. God is able to do all things.

    Like

  2. I can totally relate with this post! As parents we want the very best for our children and that includes protecting them from the ‘roughter’ things in life. Interestingly enough however, what we want for them and what God wants may be poles apart. From personal experience with my own son however, there comes a time when you have to let go and let God take full control. He knows the future and He is definitely the best person to look after our children (and us too)!

    Like

Leave a Reply

