To love God is to obey God

bible reading

1John 5:3 For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.

I love dogs! They make wonderful loyal pets and are my favorite. My dog Tiger never fails to show his excitement and undying affection and is always eager to come when called. Dogs know their master and will lovingly follow them around. They can be trained to obey commands to come, sit, stay, lie down and perform specific tasks such as bringing objects and opening doors, acting as assistance dogs. They are happy to serve and be given instructions to follow.

Are we like this with our Master? Are we eager and ready to obey God’s commands, waiting for His instructions to follow? Do we pray like David in Ps 119:33-35? Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end. Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law; Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart. Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it.

The most common Greek word for worship is proskuneo – meaning to kiss, like a dog licking his master’s hand; to fawn or crouch to, i.e. (literally or figuratively) prostrate oneself in homage (do reverence to, adore):–worship. (Strong’s #4352)

The best way we can show our love and worship for God is to submit to Him, prostrating our hearts and minds to His commands and obeying. The bible says that the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom. We should fear God because He is righteous, holy, all-powerful and all-knowing. Through our Lord Jesus, we also understand that it is God’s love for us that caused Him to give the great sacrifice of His son and the son’s love caused Him to submit to His Father’s commands. Therefore we serve Him out of a heart of love and gratitude that says..”Whatever you say, this I will do! When you ask me to forgive, I will. When you ask me to sacrifice, I will. When you say don’t complain, I won’t. When you tell me to give up sinful habits, I will.”

The commands of God are not to be seen as burdensome or a source of grief to our souls, as though we have to do them..or there will be some horrible punishment. While there is certainly punishment for disobedience and blessings for obedience as promised in Deuteronomy 28, we ought to love God’s commands because we love God himself and trust him and want to do what he says because we know it’s His best for us. Like a dog who worships his master, licks his hand and is ready to do his bidding, this is the way we are to view ourselves before our God.

His commandments are a source of life to us, leading us into the truth and giving us wise counsel and direction for life and godliness. We all need to come to this place of submitting joyfully and lovingly to the commands of our Father. Let us pray daily for the filling of His Holy Spirit and a love for Him and His commands.

During the week, let’s meditate prayerfully on these:

Ps 119: 1-176 (prayers for desiring God’s commands and obeying them)

Ps 111:10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do his commandments: his praise endureth for ever.

Joshua 22:5 But take diligent heed to do the commandment and the law, which Moses the servant of the Lord charged you, to love the Lord your God, and to walk in all his ways, and to keep his commandments, and to cleave unto him, and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Ecclesiastes 12:13 Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.

John 14:15 If ye love me, keep my commandments.

Proverbs 7:2 Keep my commandments, and live; and my law as the apple of thine eye.

By Carol-Angel Jackson

2 thoughts on “To love God is to obey God

Leave a Reply

