For Our Children

582738_78297201

Photo by annisat (www.sxc.hu)

Psalm 127: 3-4

3Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

4As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. (KJV)

I love how the KJV translates the title verses. Children are given as a reward. They can therefore be seen as a special prize. To be cherished and taken care of well.

Our children are blessings from God. Even though I must admit, sometimes I don’t feel that way. Especially when the limits of my patience and sanity are being tested and I am sure that there is steam coming out of my ears. In such times, I have learned to just simply thank God for my wonderful children and I try to list all of their redeeming qualities.

The following list of scriptures was started when a good friend of mine sent some to me and I have added to it as well.

Pray claiming God’s promises over your children. This is what shapes their lives in the midst of the chaos that we see around us . Every day they go off to school, spend time with friends or watch TV. In some cases, the children in our lives may already be grown with their own families.  These words can be spoken over children, grandchildren, nieces, nephews, students, friends’ children.

Are such prayers effective? Yes. God says He is ready to perform his word. We serve a promise making, promise keeping God

Jeremiah 1:12 Then the Lord said to me, “You have seen well, for I am ready to perform My word.”

Isaiah 55:11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please ,And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.

Pray over the children in your life each day.  Read, declare and decree these verses over them and know that God’s promises are yes and amen. Even when in the natural things may not look good, trust God.

Isaiah 44:3 I will pour My Spirit on your descendants, And My blessing on your offspring

Jeremiah 31:16-17 16But now this is what the Lord says: “Do not weep any longer, for I will reward you,” says the Lord. “Your children will come back to you from the distant land of the enemy.17There is hope for your future,” says the Lord. “Your children will come again to their own land.

Psalms 112:1-2 1Praise the Lord! Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, Who delights greatly in His commandments.2His descendants will be mighty on earth; The generation of the upright will be blessed.

Deuteronomy 28 is filled with God’s declared blessings for our obedience and these extend to our children as well.

One such example is:

Deuteronomy 28:13 And the Lord will make you the head and not the tail; you shall be above only, and not be beneath, if you heed the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you today, and are careful to observe them.

 Acts 16:31. So they said,  “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you will be saved, you and your household.”

Isaiah 54:13 All your children shall be taught by the Lord, And great shall be the peace of your children.  ( This verse was my strength over the last few months while my son was going through exam preparation)

Luke 2:52 And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.

Let us be mindful to treat children as the reward that they are and to appreciate what God has put into them no matter what age they are.

There are so many other verses that we can declare over our children. Feel free to add your own. Please leave us a comment and let us know, so that we can all share in them.

By Marisse Cropper

Leave a Reply

