#1 Mom!

Ju and the boys

Ps 127:3 Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from Him.

Daniel, Julian and Johnathan. Photo by Amaris Harper (dlightfulmedia@gmail.com).

Some months ago, my 9 year old son Daniel gave me such a thrill. It was an evening after school and both of my children were doing homework. I was also busy completing some work when I eventually noticed he’d said to me a few times..”Mommy I have something to tell you!” Very distracted, I finally said,”What’s that hun?” That’s when he started to sing “No mommy greater! No mommy greater! No mommy greater than you!” to the tune of that wonderful song by Vashawn Mitchell.

Looool! I laughed my facJulie Mangoe off, but it warmed my heart and was sooo refreshing..you know like eating a nice juicy Julie Mango on a hot day in the Caribbean? It brought to my memory that scripture in Ps 127:3 ..Sons are a heritage from the Lord and children a reward from Him.

So often in these times, when our economies are down and life feels so much more stressful, we can feel somewhat unrewarded. We work hard, sometimes without the monetary rewards we’d like to have; some of us may have lost jobs; or we may look to others to praise us for hard work on the job, home front or ministry, so that through recognition we can feel rewarded. When it comes to raising children, between the tantrums, outbursts, stubborn moments and choices they make, we may be tempted to lament like the prophet in Isaiah 49:4 “I have labored to no purpose; I have spent my strength in vain and for nothing.” However, if we read further we’ll see that he continues to say “Yet what is due me is in the Lord’s hand, and my reward is with my God.” 

The Lord would ask us to take our eyes off rewards we may have grown so accustomed to needing and using for validation and look around us at the blessings and rewards He has placed and continues to place in our lives.  If you have children, or are about to start your family, know that children are one of those rewards from Him. The truth is also, even if no one else thinks it, to our children we ARE #1, numero uno! Be extremely grateful for them and the opportunity to nurture and guide them. Sometimes they will make you want to pull out your hair, your braids or whatever, but His word says they are a reward and heritage and in having them we have been truly blessed by God.

You may have children by natural birth, adoption, spiritual children or you may be looking after disabled, disadvantaged or orphaned children. Praise God today for them! You are #1 to them so make them your priority as well. Spend quality time making sure that they have the security and comfort of your love. This reward God has given you should be valued very highly and deemed worthy of the investments of your time, energy, love, money and focus. Let your children also prompt you to search His word to discover His truth and wisdom to teach them. They are in your life so that your heart will overflow with thanksgiving and praise and that you can grow as they grow.

Children are the ultimate gift to two people who love each other and the ultimate inconvenience to parents that don’t. There is no bigger responsibility, and yet a relationship with a child can bear the greatest rewards. Children intuitively know when they are wanted and when they are not. The way that they are raised from the cradle will affect the people they will become. There is a famous saying that children spell love T I M E. There may be many compelling reasons why you cannot be with your children but none of them can replace time. It is gone forever. “Children” by Family Friend Poems.

Prayer: Lord thank you for the children you have placed in my care and for the reward and heritage you have given me in them. Help me everyday to nurture, guide and love them with the strength, wisdom and ability that comes from you. Help them to grow in grace and in the knowledge of you and be a blessing to you and to the world.

Have a great day on Sunday! Happy mom’s Day #1 Moms!

me and boys3

By Carol-Angel Jackson

2 thoughts on “#1 Mom!

  1. Carol I am blessed by your input on Sisters’ Keeper.I am moved to tears by Daniel’s and Johnathon’s thoughts.I feel blessed to have Rochard.Through it all I trust God for Him.Even though I had to raise him as a single mother,I tried to provide him with the love he so deserved.Thank God for your family and my family. HAPPY MOTHERS’ DAY
    Auntie Patsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

